Guest Reviews

Tholos Bay Reviews

Comfortable villa with great pool and stunning view (4/5)
Review Submitted: October 23, 2015
Date of Stay: October 2015

We were in Villa Giorgina a two bedroomed villa with two shower/bathrooms. Well – equipped kitchen and comfortable beds! The pool is of good size and the outside areas have views down to Tholos Bay and the sea. Dirt track to property OK. Walking book and other guides in the property very useful. Some good, not too long walks nearby. Weather in October great mid 20’s. Enjoyed this quiet and secluded area ,but found Ag Nik area very crowded and touristy. Great to have a swim in the pool or in Tholos Bay. The Ferryman boat friendly boat trip to Psira Island with fruit and raki! Everything you need in the villa. Many thanks.


Most Relaxing week (5/5)
Review Submitted: September 22, 2015
Date of Stay: September 2015

My husband, 18 month old son and I stayed at Tholos Villa for 1 week and it was truly one of the most relaxing holidays we’ve been on. Its location was beautiful with incredible views of Tholos Bay and the surrounding mountains and exactly what we wanted. It catered perfectly for young children so we didn’t have to take many toys for our son, they were all there and there was adequate safety precautions around the pool so we could allow him to run around relatively freely. I would recommend this villa to anyone.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.

The most amazing location for a relaxing holiday (5/5)
Review Submitted: November 12, 2014
Date of Stay: August 2014

We stayed at Tholos with 3 kids aged 8 months, 4 and 6 my parents in the other villa. There was plenty of space and the kids loved being in the pool all the time! Both villas were very clean, the managers very welcoming and I would certainly recommend to a friend or relative. Stunning views and so close to the gorgeous sea. Ideal for a quick dip before sundowners! We will be back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.

Perfect and private setting (5/5)
Review Submitted: November 12, 2014
Date of Stay: October 2014

This was the perfect place for our family with two boys, ages 7 and 9. We were wowed by the amazing views and the setting. The boys loved the pool and hot tub! It was very private and peaceful with nothing else in sight but the beautiful landscape. Although we were off the beaten path, we felt comfortable that the caretakers were available to us 24-7 for anything we needed. Gilly happily answered answered any questions we had even before our arrival. The villas are clean, well-maintained and very comfortable. There were even pool toys/floats and DVDs to use. We enjoyed barbecuing and eating outside every night watching the sunset. During the day, there were fun excursions and hikes, scenic drives, and nearby beaches and towns. We rarely return to a place we’ve already been, but we think this place will be an exception. We’d love to go back.

Liked best: Setting, privacy, pool/hot tub/BBQ facilities,
Liked least: some windy days
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children

Superb getaway – wonderful location, villas and climate! (5/5)
Review Submitted: August 19, 2014
Date of Stay: August 2014

We are a family of five with children aged between 5 years and 6 months – as it was August I was a bit nervous about travelling with them all, especially the baby who is not used to the heat. However, the whole experience was flawless, from being met at the airport by Byron cars to being given a guided drive into the villas from Kavousi. The villas are very pretty, lots of outdoor seating, incredible views, and were very comfortable for all of us. The heat was intense but the A/C at night and using shutters during the day ensured we kept cool, and the pool was used the whole time – my children turned into water babies! We swam in the sea as much as we could although wish we had managed more beach excursions – the 6 month old baby needing the odd nap did affect our ability to spend the whole day out and about.
We had BBQ almost every night, under incredible skies full of shooting stars. I was also delighted that it was only 5 minutes to Tholos beach which is pretty and has a fab taverna, as well as about 5 mins to the town/village of Kavousi which has a playpark, fabulous baker, supermarket and more tavernas. We enjoyed trips to Mochlos, Gournia, Kritsa and of course the water park near Heraklion – all of which were super for our kids as well as us. The whole holiday was a breeze and our only sadness was that the week flew by far too quickly. The villas and location definitely warrant a longer holiday so next time we’ll book in for 2 weeks without a doubt. Thank you Shane and Katie – what a fabulous place you have 🙂

Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children

Beautiful villa with a stunning view!(5/5)
Review Submitted: July 7, 2014
Date of Stay: July 2014

We have just returned from Tholos Bay and had a magical holiday. What a wonderful spot with a view you never tire of. The villas worked really well for us, (two families with small children,) as we had enough space and privacy when we needed it but also found the layout great for entertaining as a group in the evenings and by the pool. We arrived to spotless villas and found the management of the properties to be seamless and professional. We will be back!


Absolutely Amazing! (5/5)
Review Submitted: November 8, 2011
Date of Stay: July 2011

Tholos Bay villas are simply out of this world and the perfect location to escape to and unwind. The villas themselves are extremely luxurious and everything has been very well thought out, especially in terms of providing for families with small children. Tholos bay provides something for everyone with lots to see and do on your doorstep but yet due to the secluded location you can simply relax there taking in the fantastic views and luxurious setting.

Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


A view that will never tire! (5/5)
Review Submitted: November 11, 2011
Date of Stay: September 2011

The setting of Tholos villas is breath-taking, whether having breakfast next to the pool as the sun has just risen, or whilst enjoying a BBQ under a dark sky, abundant with twinkly stars. I would never tire of the view of the surrounding hills and cove below. Not only a stunning setting, the villas are also wonderfully equipped and handy for a paddle in the turquoise sea or a trip to the local village for a taste of local life. I would love these villas as our holiday home!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


We rented this house for friends in August 2011 Crete – Greece (4 out of 5)
Review Submitted: August 24, 2010
Date of Stay: August 2010

8 friends of us wanted to visit the east of CRETE. ( we are leaving in the centre of Crete). We find those villas and exchange some mails with Gilly. The two houses are very well located, very comfortable, every thing is very well though. Our friends loved this place, every room is very well designed and pratical. If I had to find something again, I should of course join Gilly.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children


Tholos bay is a winner (5 out of 5)
Review Submitted: July 19, 2010
Date of Stay: July 2010

This is a great little holiday spot outside of the tourist trail, but still with so much to see and do. You can go for a walk around old authentic Kavousi town, swim to the island just off Mochlos (its pretty neighbouring village) and take you pick of a number of great beaches to relax on. The sound of cicadas rise out of the silver olive trees in the valley and throb in your ears and in July it is impossible to resist the swimming pool to cool off. The villas are fantastic – with great sunset views and all the comfort you would expect. Definitely planning our return..

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


More than we expected (5 out of 5)
Review Submitted: July 15, 2010
Date of Stay: June 2010

We all had a great time – the facilities are great and I think we lost track of the day and time after day 3 – mission accomplished!! We will 100% be back, however I have a funny feeling next year will be busy for you guys, I have 4 families wanting me to pass your details on to them already!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


A beautiful family escape (5 out of 5)
Review Submitted: January 4, 2010
Date of Stay: August 2009

We have a one year old boy and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Villa Giorgina, the larger villa. It was very comfortable and child friendly and an exquisite setting. It is very private but close to good quality and good value local restaurants and beaches. We were well looked after on arrival and a charming couple made sure we had settled in and knew where everything was, as well as leaving some food for us. In short every whim was catered for and we could not recommend the villa highly enough.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway